The Culinary Corner presents Desserts!

Today, we’re talking desserts!

J. Edwards offers up a large assortment of tasty cakes!

J. Edwards offers up a large assortment of tasty cakes!

I’m going to start with Kokomo’s king of
dessert . . . J. Edwards.  This fine establishment is located at 2106 W. Sycamore Road.  There is a huge assortment of goodies to choose from, such as the carrot cake, cookies, and éclairs to name a few.  However, my focus will be on the Banana Split Cake – three layers of greatness!  It’s exactly what the name insinuates.  It stands almost a foot tall, with layers of banana, strawberry, and chocolate cakes.  The icing is sugar creamy goodness.  I’ve always been a chocolate cake lover at birthday time, but next December 26 (my birthday), I’ll be requesting a Banana Split Cake from J. Edwards.  Check out their homemade chocolates.  Wow, that’s the only word that will describe all those chocolate goodies.  I hope by the time you read this article, they will have those delicious deluxe caramel apples back.

It’s the beginning of Fall, but ice cream is always a favorite.  Scoops, located at 1231 W. Jefferson and 408 Arrow Street, has a variety of ice cream treats to please everyone.  From Super Man to Butter Pecan or even sugar-free choices, this ice cream parlor has become a family favorite of locals.  My favorite is Bear Claw.  Hmmmm . . . rich chocolate ice cream with caramel ribbons and nuts!  Yummy, yummy, yummy.  Ok, I know I’m getting a bit carried away, but it’s my all time favorite ice cream.

Next up is the signature dessert at Pastarrific, located on Kokomo’s Southside at 3001 S. Webster Street.  I had never had Crème Brulee, but this was an unexpected treat.  This custard-style dessert is awesome.  It has a caramelized sugar atop creamy custard with sweet sauce drizzle.  As we all know, Pastarrific is one of Kokomo’s restaurants of choice, but next time you go, save room for dessert.

The Quarry's Chocolate Layered Cake

The Quarry's Chocolate Layered Cake

Once again, the new kid on the block makes the list.  Voted as Kokomo’s favorite Patio Spot for best atmosphere in last month’s issue, The Quarry, located at 2130 W. Sycamore Street, has a Chocolate Layered Cake to die for.  Chocolate cake, chocolate ganache, hot fudge, whipped cream, and ice cream.  OMG!  Natalie, my server, informed me that everything is homemade, even the whipped cream and ice cream.  She tried to tempt me with a Snickers Frozen Pie and a Blueberry Cheesecake, by placing ALL three of these scrumptious desserts in front of me.  Ok, I can’t lie.  I did try all three, but I had back up with me.  My husband, who never eats desserts, downed the Chocolate Cake, and then had the nerve to ask for milk.  My friend, Anton, hovered over the Cheesecake like a kid over a cereal bowl!  Needless to say, all three desserts were super fantastic. 

Due to my waistline, I only visited a few local establishments seeking great desserts, but I’m sure there are great sweet treats all around town.

Next issue we will explore Kokomo’s favorite local pizza joints.  Leave a comment and let me know where you go for great pizza!

Kim Morgan,
Kokomo Visitors Bureau

One thought on “The Culinary Corner presents Desserts!

Leave a Reply

